Looking Down

It occurs to me recently that I’ve been too kindly treated and overly nurtured. I only say this because it seems that various people around me are struggling. Struggling with jobs that don’t pay; jobs that suddenly don’t exist anymore; struggling with circumstances beyond their control.

Everything I have is miraculously intact, despite my best intentions to hurl insults at fate. And what the heck am I planning to do? To take a year out and live on savings, with barely a thought as to what I’ll do on my return.

It’s not the most sensible thing to do, granted, especially against the backdrop of various life dramas that are taking place. To not take this opportunity would be a shame. Once you’ve embraced the shallowness of first world existence, I suppose it’s just another day on the paradise island of unthinking pleasure…

How bloody lucky am I?

Leave a Reply

